FAQs: frequently asked questions about donating

Will my donation be received??

Helvetas will use your donations responsibly. They will be put to use wherever you choose to help. For every donated Swiss franc, 90 centimes will be used for projects and programs. Helvetas is a ZEWO-approved non-profit organization. The ZEWO-seal guarantees that your donation will be used for its designated purpose, effectively and economically. The ZEWO-seal further stands for open communication as well as transparent financial reporting. Helvetas is reviewed by ZEWO on a regular basis. Comprehensive information about the allocation of funds can be found in our annual reports.

Are my donations tax deductible?

Donations to charitable organizations are tax deductible in most Swiss cantons. For every donation, starting at 10 Swiss francs, Helvetas will mail you a donation receipt each year at the end of January (provided you share your mailing address with us).

Can I donate with a payment slip?

Only electronic payments currently allow the direct assignment of your donation to a specific fundraising campaign. It’s also possible to donate with your cellphone if you don’t own a credit or debit card. You can use a payment slip however to support our water or education projects. To do so, deposit your donation to the postal account 80-3130-4. Then earmark your donation for either «Wasserfonds» or «Bildungsfonds». (IBAN: CH76 0900 0000 8000 3130 4)

What happens when I reach my fundraising goal?

First things first: celebrate! Your fundraising campaign will still continue and you can continue to raise funds. You can adjust your fundraising goal or extend the campaign period. Click on' Edit Action' in the upper righthand corner of your action page. (You have to be logged in.)

Is my data secure?

We care deeply about privacy. Helvetas will use your personal data for internal use only and will not share them with third parties. Helvetas uses and manages its own address database. Helvetas is ZEWO-certified and therefore not allowed to sell or lease personal data to any third party. You can find further details about privacy at https://helvetas.org/en/switzerland/privacy-policy.

Any more questions?

If you have any further questions, don’t hesitate to contact us anytime directly via life-changer@helvetas.org

Hilfe, Fragen und Antworten

Kommt meine Spende an?

Deine Spende ist bei Helvetas in guten Händen. Sie kommt dort an, wo du helfen möchtest. Von einem Spendefranken fliessen 90 Rappen in Projekte und Programme. Helvetas ist eine von der ZEWO anerkannte gemeinnützige Organisation. Das ZEWO-Gütesiegel garantiert, dass deine Spende zweckbestimmt, wirksam und wirtschaftlich eingesetzt wird. Das ZEWO-Gütesiegel steht weiter für eine offene Kommunikation sowie für eine transparente Rechnungslegung. Helvetas wird regelmässig von der ZEWO überprüft. Umfassende Informationen zur Mittelverwendung findest du in unserem Jahresbericht.

Kann ich meine Spende von den Steuern abziehen?

Spenden an gemeinnützige Organisationen können in den meisten Kantonen vom steuerbaren Einkommen abgezogen werden. Für alle von dir getätigten Spenden ab 10 Franken sendet dir Helvetas jeweils Ende Januar eine Spendenbestätigung per Post (sofern du uns deine Postadresse angegeben hast).

Kann ich per Einzahlungsschein spenden?

Im Moment können wir nur elektronische Spenden direkt einer bestimmten Sammelaktion zuweisen. Falls du keine Kredit- oder Debit-Karte hast, kannst du eine Sammelaktion auch per Handy unterstützen. Du kannst unsere Wasser- oder Bildungsprojekte aber trotzdem mit einem Einzahlungsschein unterstützen. Zahle dazu deine Spende auf das Postkonto 80-3130-4 ein. Vermerk: «Wasserfonds» oder «Bildungsfonds». (IBAN: CH76 0900 0000 8000 3130 4)

Was passiert, wenn ich mein Sammelziel erreicht habe?

Zuerst: Feiern! Deine Sammelaktion läuft trotzdem weiter und du kannst weiter Spenden sammeln. Du kannst dein Spendenziel anpassen oder auch den Aktionszeitraum verlängern. Klicke auf deiner Aktionsseite oben links auf «Aktion bearbeiten». (Du musst dazu angemeldet sein.)

Sind meine Daten sicher?

Datenschutz ist uns wichtig. Helvetas verwendet deine persönlichen Daten ausschliesslich für interne Zwecke und gibt sie nicht an Dritte weiter. Helvetas hat eine eigene Datenbank und verwaltet ihre Adressen selber. Helvetas ist von der ZEWO zertifiziert und darf daher keine persönlichen Daten an Dritte vermieten oder verkaufen. Details dazu findest du unter https://helvetas.org/de/schweiz/datenschutz

Hast du noch weitere Fragen?

Weitere Fragen richtest du gerne direkt und unkompliziert per E-Mail an life-changer@helvetas.org